Saturday, June 28, 2014

Chasing that elusive inspiration


Inspiration is a funny and elusive thing. One day it's there and the next it's gone. 

We put on some tunes, grab a cup of coffee, park ourselves in front of laptops and try to create something beautiful. 
After a hour of aimlessly scrolling through our twitter feed we are left with fingers hovering our keyboards and staring at a blank white screen.

We all need something. Something to keep us moved. Something to us fill us with the need to create something wonderfully awesome. Something to inspire us.

During my one month offline project I learnt a few things about inspiration that I want to share with you. Cause you know, I'm awesome like that. ;)

Wednesday, June 25, 2014

Review: Faking Normal - Courtney C. Stevens

AuthorCourtney C. Stevens 
PublisherHarperTeen
Published Date: February 25th 2014 
Source: ARC Courtesy of The Publisher
Synopsis:

Alexi Littrell hasn't told anyone what happened to her over the summer. Ashamed and embarrassed, she hides in her closet and compulsively scratches the back of her neck, trying to make the outside hurt more than the inside does.

When Bodee Lennox, the quiet and awkward boy next door, comes to live with the Littrells, Alexi discovers an unlikely friend in "the Kool-Aid Kid," who has secrets of his own. As they lean on each other for support, Alexi gives him the strength to deal with his past, and Bodee helps her find the courage to finally face the truth.

A searing, poignant book, Faking Normal is the extraordinary debut novel from an exciting new author-Courtney C. Stevens.

My Thoughts

Every once in a while we come across a book that is mind-blowing-good and you love it so much that you can’t stop thinking about and can’t even talk about it for fear of incoherent rambling. 

Well, Faking Normal was this kinda book.

Sunday, June 22, 2014

Review: The Murder Complex - Lindsay Cummings



Author: Lindsay Cummings
Publisher: Greenwillow Books
Series: The Murder Complex #1
Published Date: June 10th 2014
Source: Publisher
Synopsis:

An action-packed, blood-soaked, futuristic debut thriller set in a world where the murder rate is higher than the birthrate. For fans of Moira Young’s Dust Lands series, La Femme Nikita, and the movie Hanna.

Meadow Woodson, a fifteen-year-old girl who has been trained by her father to fight, to kill, and to survive in any situation, lives with her family on a houseboat in Florida. The state is controlled by The Murder Complex, an organization that tracks the population with precision.

The plot starts to thicken when Meadow meets Zephyr James, who is—although he doesn’t know it—one of the MC’s programmed assassins. Is their meeting a coincidence? Destiny? Or part of a terrifying strategy? And will Zephyr keep Meadow from discovering the haunting truth about her family?

Action-packed, blood-soaked, and chilling, this is a dark and compelling debut novel by Lindsay Cummings

My Thoughts

“Action-packed, blood-soaked, and chilling, this is a dark and compelling debut novel by Lindsay Cummings.”

Action-packed? Maybe. Blood-soaked? Yes. Chilling? Nah. Compelling? Hahaha.

Wednesday, June 18, 2014

Guest Review: Thousand Words - Jennifer Brown



Author: Jennifer Brown
Publisher: Brown Books for Young Readers 
Synopsis:

Ashleigh's boyfriend, Kaleb, is about to leave for college, and Ashleigh is worried that he'll forget about her while he's away. So at a legendary end-of-summer pool party, Ashleigh's friends suggest she text him a picture of herself -- sans swimsuit -- to take with him. Before she can talk herself out of it, Ashleigh strides off to the bathroom, snaps a photo in the full-length mirror, and hits "send."

But when Kaleb and Ashleigh go through a bad breakup, Kaleb takes revenge by forwarding the text to his baseball team. Soon the photo has gone viral, attracting the attention of the school board, the local police, and the media. As her friends and family try to distance themselves from the scandal, Ashleigh feels completely alone -- until she meets Mack while serving her court-ordered community service. Not only does Mack offer a fresh chance at friendship, but he's the one person in town who received the text of Ashleigh's photo -- and didn't look. 

Acclaimed author Jennifer Brown brings readers a gripping novel about honesty and betrayal, redemption and friendship, attraction and integrity, as Ashleigh finds that while a picture may be worth a thousand words . . . it doesn't always tell the whole story.

Julianne's Thoughts
This is not the kind of book that I would normally pick up to read. I’m not the kind to pick up the heavy stuff because I’ve seen a lot of drama in real life already. But this book is definitely something I didn’t regret picking up. 

Sunday, June 15, 2014

What going offline taught me

So I'm back

After one whole month of no blogging, no reviewing, no blog-related tweeting/e-mailing and most importantly a month of doing exactly what I pleased I'm back.

So settle in because in this half blogging lesson/half life lesson post I'm going to tell you about my experience on going offline and why I decided to take the plunge.

With exams coming up and a reading/blogging slump looming I was forced to take a break. And with a little help from Miranti's post at Pen & Peplum on Planning for a time offline I was able to make this sabbatical a great one.

Taking a step back made me look at things in a different perspective. I started realizing that blogging had become a chore for me because I was continuing do things that I didn't really enjoy doing. 

Everyone were doing so many amazing things on their blogs and I was feeling just stuck in this rut

Then it  hit me-I needed a time out ASAP.
So now that I'm back all I can say you HAVE to give it a go. Going offline may have been the best thing I ever did this year. 

And here's what I've learnt-